BWC Committee

Treasurer: Steven McCullough
Web Design: Steven McCullough
Committee Members: Penny Davies, Scott Vandervalk, Beverley Amy, Jane Westworth
All committee positions are available at our next AGM.

All committee positions are available at our next AGM.

Treasurer and Web Design
Between work and family commitments, Steve likes to deceive himself that he has time to right. At the end of each day, malevolent stars align and dark thoughts percolate; steeping sinuously onto a virtual page.
Beyond considering CBT to ensure the placement of only one space after a full stop instead of two, Steve explores fiction-writing fundamentals and practical writing wisdom.
Committee: Penny Davies
After six years as Secretary of BWC Penny has stepped back into a mentoring role on the 2021 committee. A member of Writers Victoria, the Fellowship of Australian Writers [Victoria] and the Australian Society of Authors whose mantra is Advocacy, Support and Advice, Penny brings this practice to her involvement with BWC.

An institutional historian Penny has a PhD from La Trobe University and is widely published in historical anthologies and journals; continuing to focus on non-fiction genre. Penny, who holds an Honorary Associate’s position affiliated to the Head of Bendigo Campus Office at La Trobe University, is involved in philanthropy and a diverse range of community boards and committees.

​Penny received an AM in the 2019 Queen’s Birthday Honours list.​
Committee: Scott Vandervalk
Scott Vandervalk has been an editor for over 8 years. His projects range across the globe, from educational textbooks to biographies, self-help books, role-playing games and board-games, amongst many other types of text.

Scott has previously worked in science research and education support, both of which have led to editing projects related to those fields. He has worked as an associate editor for Aurealis magazine for 8 years, and was previously lead editor for 21D magazine.

Of particular interest to Scott are stories, games and education, and the ways they can be connected together. When he is not editing, Scott can be found dabbling in gardening, cooking, writing, or designing and playing games.